About

I’m a software engineer originally from The Netherlands and currently residing in Gurgaon, India. I’ve completed my Master of Computing Science in 2015 at the University of Groningen, The Netherlands.

I feel most comfortable as a backend developer. For around 8 years Python was my go-to language, but for the past 3 years I’ve been working mostly in Go. I’ve worked with Google Cloud Platform, Amazon Web Services and Azure.

What I find the most important as a software developer is a great developer experience. An environment in which you can independently experiment, get feedback quickly and where you can focus on writing great software. For me that means developing a Cloud Native solution with managed hosted services for all non-core-business functionality like search and databases. I also love automated tests, formatting and linting and a continuous integration and continuous deployment pipeline. Having setup and worked with all these productivity increasing tools, I cannot imagine how one can live without them.

Software Engineering and Distributed Systems is the specialization I chose for my Masters. For my thesis I’ve investigated how to create a decentralized link sharing system (a.k.a. Reddit). I’ve learned a ton about Distributed Hash Tables (DHT), blockchains and distributed messaging protocols. I’m trying to stay up-to-date but there is so much going on. IPFS is a project which I have followed ever since.

In my spare time I love being a coach at DjangoGirls. It is such a great feeling to help people discover the magic of being able to create software.

Feel free to shoot me a message at info@ldej.nl.